© Pixabay

Contact

Photo of Benedikt  Fecher
Benedikt Fecher
Open Access | Research Data
Leibniz Association
Chausseestraße 111
10115 Berlin
Tel.: +49 30 / 20 60 49 - 53

Open Access

The Leibniz Association supports open, online, and barrier-free access to and exchange of research results. Fast and direct Open Access enhances research efficiency, promotes international and interdisciplinary cooperation, increases the visibility and citation frequency of publications, and maximises the benefits of publicly funded research.

As early as 2003, the Leibniz Association joined other large science organisations in co-signing the “Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities” and committed itself to actively supporting and promoting the idea of open access. Other important milestones in this process were the establishment of the Open Access Working Group in September of 2005 as well as the passing of Guidelines on Open Access in 2007.

These guidelines are implemented through a variety of activities, in particular LeibnizOpen, the central Open Access portal of all Leibniz institutions, founded in 2011 and providing optimum visibility for Leibniz research publications across all scientific disciplines. With LeibnizOpen, the Leibniz Association wants to maximise the number of publications that are freely available online as full texts, thus making the collective research output of Leibniz institutions optimally visible, searchable, and permanently available.

The Leibniz Association promotes Open Access in the political arena, too, e.g. by joining other science organisations in the Alliance initiative “Digital Information”.

Moreover, many Leibniz institutions act as co-editors or service providers for open-access specialist publications, or operate specialist repositories that make specialist literature openly available online.

You can find a list of the open access publications of individual Leibniz institutions in the column on the right.

Or visit LeibnizOpen

© Pixabay

Kontakt

Photo of Anita  Eppelin
Anita Eppelin
Open Access und Forschungsdaten
Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
Chausseestraße 111
10115 Berlin
Tel.: 030 / 20 60 49 - 53

Open Access

Die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft unterstützt den freien Austausch von Forschungsergebnissen ohne Zugangsbarrieren über das Internet. Der schnelle und direkte Zugang im Open Access erhöht die Forschungseffizienz, unterstützt internationale und interdisziplinäre Kooperation, verstärkt die Sichtbarkeit und Zitierhäufigkeit von Publikationen und maximiert den Nutzen öffentlich geförderter Forschung.

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft auch, gemeinsam mit anderen großen Wissenschaftsorganisationen, bereits 2003 die „Berliner Erklärung für freien Zugang zu wissenschaftlichem Wissen“ mitunterzeichnet und sich verpflichtet, den Open-Access-Gedanken aktiv zu unterstützen und voranzutreiben. Weitere wichtige Schritte in dieser Richtung waren die Gründung des Arbeitskreises Open Access im September 2005 und die Verabschiedung der Open-Access-Leitlinie 2007.

In die Praxis umgesetzt wird die Leitlinie durch vielfältige Aktivitäten, insbesondere seit 2011 mit LeibnizOpen, dem zentralen Open-Access-Portal aller Leibniz-Institute das der optimalen Sichtbarkeit ihrer Forschungspublikationen dient – über alle Wissenschaftsdisziplinen hinweg. Die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft will durch LeibnizOpen möglichst viele Publikationen als Volltexte im freien Zugang online verfügbar machen. LeibnizOpen bietet damit optimale Sichtbarkeit und Recherchierbarkeit sowie die dauerhafte Verfügbarkeit des Forschungsoutputs der Leibniz-Institute.

Auch auf der der politischen Ebene engagiert sich die Leibniz-Gemeinschaft für Open Access, z.B. gemeinsam mit den anderen Wissenschaftsorganisationen im Rahmen der Allianz-Initiative „Digitale Information“.

Darüber hinaus sind viele Leibniz-Institute als Herausgeber von oder Dienstleister für Open-Access-Fachzeitschriften aktiv oder betreiben fachliche Repositorien, die Fachliteratur frei verfügbar im Web bereitstellen.

In der rechten Spalte finden Sie eine Auflistung von Open-Access-Angeboten der einzelnen Leibniz-Institute.

Leibniz Museen Aktuell