Researchers working at Leibniz Institutes collaborate with academic partners worldwide, and Leibniz institutions are part of a global network. Leibniz Institutes, Leibniz Research Alliances and Leibniz ScienceCampi select their international collaboration partners independently. The Leibniz Association is also actively engaged in attracting the best scientists worldwide to conduct research at, and collaborate with, Leibniz Institutes. In 2018, international scientists accounted for 23% of academic staff, 33% of doctoral students and 32% of post-doctoral researchers.
Conducting research at a Leibniz Institute

In order to work as a researcher at, or collaborate with, a Leibniz Institute, it is recommended that you contact the relevant Leibniz Institute directly. The Leibniz Association website provides an overview of all the member institutes, Leibniz Research Alliances, Leibniz ScienceCampi and international Graduate Schools. Further information can be found in the Career section of the Leibniz website.

Leibniz Chairs

Leibniz Chairs reflect a particularly close connection between an international researcher and a Leibniz institution. The researcher must have a good international reputation and have rendered outstanding services to the Leibniz Institute over a long period of time. Leibniz Institutes can apply centrally for a researcher to be appointed to a Leibniz Chair on an honorary basis. In the event of a positive decision by the Executive Board, the Leibniz Institute appoints the nominee – usually for a term of five years.

There are currently eleven Leibniz chairs:

Prof. Włodzimierz Borodziej
Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe - Institute of the Leibniz Association (HI), Marburg
Institute of History of Warsaw University

Prof. Alessandro Cellerino
Leibniz Institute on Aging - Fritz Lipmann Institute (FLI), Jena
Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa

Prof. Irmgard Förster
IUF – Leibniz Research Institute for Environmental Medicine, Düsseldorf
Life & Medical Sciences Institut (LIMES)

Prof. Andreas Heinz
Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology (LIN), Magdeburg
Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Prof. Steven Hillyard
Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology (LIN), Magdeburg
University of California in San Diego, USA

Prof. Robert McMeeking
INM – Leibniz-Institute for New Materials, Saarbrücken
University of California, Santa Barbara

Prof. Fritz Melchers
German Rheumatism Research Centre Berlin (DRFZ), Berlin
Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology (MPIIB)

William O’Reilly
German Maritime Museum – Leibniz Institute for Maritime History (DSM), Bremerhaven
University of Cambridge

Prof. Lucia Reisch
Leibniz Institute for Prevention Research and Epidemiology (BIPS), Bremen
CPS - Copenhagen Business School

Prof. Guilio Tononi
Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology (LIN), Magdeburg
University of Wisconsin

Prof. Volker Sturm
Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology (LIN), Magdeburg
Uniklinik Köln

Dr Sabine Müller
Leibniz Association
Chausseestraße 111
10115 Berlin
T +49 30 20 60 49 686