Leibniz Dissertation Award

Since 1997, the Leibniz Association has been presenting a Dissertation Award for outstanding achievements in a PhD. Since 2007, the prize has been awarded annually in two categories: Humanities & Social Sciences and Natural & Technical Sciences. It is a way for the Association to recognise two outstanding PhD dissertations from member institutes. The prize is worth 5,000 euros.

Prizewinners 2020

Dr Michelle Beghelli
Römisch-Germanisches Zentralmuseum - Leibniz Research Institute for Archaeology (RGZM), Mainz
Category Humanities and Social Sciences
„From the quarry to the church. The economics of Early Medieval stone architectural sculpture: materials, makers and patrons (7th - 9th centuries)”

Dr Pattarachai Srimuk
INM – Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Saarbrücken
Category Natural and Technical Sciences
„Faradaic electrode materials for next-generation electrochemical water desalination”

Digital Award Ceremony 2020
Katharina Brücher
Leibniz Association
Chausseestraße 111
10115 Berlin
T +49 30 20 60 49 614